An Article About Getting it Right by ALM (Maya)

image

Indulgent Divulgent from the Heart of Maya ♡ | Expanded from a reply to Mayastar Academy’s FB page | http://www.maya.mayastar.net

Sharing a memory and in gratitude of the message and delivery…and to Ms Atkins for a message that I resonated so strongly with, it is no stretch to say It changed my life…gradually…but I never forgot the message or the lady.  ♡

Indulgent Divulgent from the Heart of Maya ♡ |

I remember, when I was about 14,  a particular assembly at my boarding school where the pupils kind of mocked the Head Mistress for being a soft touch. She ignored them. Never confrontational. It was clear other staff members didn’t agree with her ‘turning the other cheek’ and walking away…I don’t mean she mooned them! That was a metaphor!

And besides she had two rottweilers in the shape of the deputy heads that would pick out the trouble makers later and give them pointless tasks for their trouble!

But 27 years on the message of that assembly has stuck with me.

Her point being that there are choices and not always second chances so life should be approached not assuming opportunities today will still be there tomorrow – and in such a way that we don’t live with regets.

That was a synopsis of what was a very empassioned speech. She was kind but staid. Forgiving but aloof. Accepting but kind of stoic. And old fashioned in a way that to be empassioned at all was unusual. So the speech was unusual…perhaps more a heart to heart with the students. And it made an indellible mark on me. I was 14. I hadn’t ever seen anyone make an empassioned speech without a religious context. And I was genuinely moved.

It stands in my mind as being unlike her other assemblies she was so emphatic and animated  during the discourse that.  I don’t think all were pleased about this about this…I caught the deputy heads exchanging glances. But they were ‘by the book’ types. Where stoicism becomes a rod for your back.

I suppose I had assume Ms Atkins was of that ilk. But I was very wrong.

This was clearly important to her. She knew education went beyond teaching. I am sure she was speaking of her own realisations (this was not  religious assembly). And that she genuinely cared that everyone in her care knew this information and didn’t have to learn it the hard way.

I have reflected on it often over the years. And now feel I come to understand it. And I teach the same.

Mayastar has a number of principles that permeate my work and teaching style. And I am truly blessed that my aspergers brain was engaged and listening to her. Maybe the fact she was picked on more than me at school made her seem less of the rottweiler and more “of the people” to me. 

#RussellBrand went to my school briefly…I don’t know if he heard this speech but I don’t think so. I think it is something he would advocate now if he had 🙂

It seems simple now. I was half hypnotised by the rituals of my life as a boarder and usually stared out windows in assembly (Aspergirls eh!). But she had me engaged. I don’t know if I understood fully her message at the time but I remembered enough of the delivery to know this was important. I will never forget her saying that our only objective in life is “getting it right”.

She was a great teacher. She inspired me a great deal. At first she seemed the least likely person i would listen to.

I feel really honoured to have known her. She can’t imagine the legacy of her words that day and what it meant for me later in other situations as I gained perspective and my own conclusions. But the difference she made to me personally and all aspects of my life is something I will always treasure.

People can be the most amazing people! I have known a lot of them and my work in Metaphysical Solutions and teaching through Mayastar Academy has allowed me to express my soul purpose. And I truly give thanks for Ms Atkins’ speech. Anyone who finds my empassioned teaching irreverent,, know that I teach what I know and I feel passionately about doing so. Such is the nature of the vocation. ♡

Very blessed ♡ Maya

http://www.mayastar.net
http://www.mayamagickal.net
http://www.mayarunes.net

image

Leave a Reply

